Union NJ Shoplifting Defense Lawyer
Anyone believing that shoplifting is a minor criminal offense does not realize the harsh penalties and long-term consequences associated with a conviction. If you have been accused of shoplifting in Union New Jersey, you need a defense lawyer who is capable of providing maximum protection against a conviction. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have devoted their practices to criminal defense, so they have a unique perspective and understanding of the laws prohibiting shoplifting, the legal defenses they can use on your behalf and how to achieve the best result possible based upon the facts and circumstances of each case. Our lawyers are available around the clock if you are arrested and charged with shoplifting in Union Township. Contact an attorney in our Union Law Office at 908- 272-1700 for a free initial consultation.
Shoplifting Charge in Union New Jersey
The New Jersey Shoplifting Law is contained at N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11. An individual shoplifts under this law when they engage in the following conduct:
- Purposely take, carry away or cause to be carried away merchandise without paying for it
- Conceal merchandise without paying for it with the intent depriving the store owner of it
- Altering, removing or transferring labels on merchandise to reflect less than true value
- Under-ring at a cash register
- Removing a shopping cart from the premises of its owner
If you conceal merchandise for which you have not paid, state law does not force the store owner to wait for you to attempt to leave with it. The law allows the store employees and police to presume it was done in order to take it from the store, and you could be charged with shoplifting.
Penalties for Shoplifting in Union Township
The seriousness of a Union shoplifting charge and the penalties associated with it depend upon the value of the merchandise as follows:
Property valued in excess of $75,000. Second degree crime punishable by a prison sentence of five to 10 years and fines up to $100,000.
Property valued at more than $500 but less than $75,000. Third degree crime punishable by imprisonment for up to five years and fines as high as $15,000.
Property valued at $200 but less than $500. Fourth degree crime punishable by up to 18 months in prison and fines up to $10,000.
Property valued at less than $200. Disorderly persons offense punishable by up to six months in jail and fines up to $1,000.
In addition to the criminal charges against you, New Jersey gives store owners the right to go after you for compensation for their trouble. The law imposes a $150 penalty payable to merchants along with other expenses they incur, such as court costs and legal fees.
A second degree crime, third degree crime or fourth degree crime for shoplifting are indictable felony charges. Cases falling within these grades of crime can only be resolved at the Union County Superior Court. A disorderly persons offense for shoplifting in Union Township falls within the jurisdiction of the Union Municipal Court.
Union NJ Shoplifting Attorney
The penalties and criminal record associated with Union NJ shoplifting charges should not be taken lightly. If you have been arrested for shoplifting, you need a defense lawyer from the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall looking out for your interests and defending you against the harsh consequences of a conviction. An attorney is ready to review all of the facts of your case and to formulate an effective plan to reach the most favorable outcome to your offense. Contact our attorneys today by calling 908-272-1700 for a free initial consultation.