Plainfield NJ Traffic Ticket Attorney
Motor Vehicle Offense in Plainfield New Jersey
Individuals are often intimidated about appearing in Plainfield Municipal Court in response to a traffic ticket and simply plead guilt rather than challenging the offense. The problem is that a moving traffic violation like speeding, reckless driving or leaving the scene of an accident result in points on your license that can lead to surcharges and even suspension of your driver’s license by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. Pleading guilty before consulting with an attorney can turn into a much bigger issue than you might anticipate and this is why you should contact our firm to learn the best strategy for averting a conviction.
Highly Experience Lawyers To Defend Your Plainfield Traffic Charge
A Plainfield NJ traffic ticket attorney at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall is well positioned to effectively defend you. We have decades of collective experience successfully representing motorists charged in Plainfield Municipal Court with driving without insurance, driving while suspended and other motor vehicle charges. In fact, several lawyers on our staff are former municipal prosecutors who have handled thousands of traffic offense cases. All of the members of our defense team are seasoned defense attorneys with the ability to develop an effective strategy to provide you with the best chance of avoiding a Plainfield traffic offense. Calling (908) 272-1700 to obtain the assistance you need in a free initial consultation.
Traffic Offense in Plainfield New Jersey
Unless you obey New Jersey traffic laws, the state has the right to suspend or revoke your driver’s license. Court decisions have held that a license to drive is a privilege, and the state can set reasonable standards and rules relating to it. Traffic tickets for failing to obey the law result in fines, but the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission keeps track of traffic convictions through a point system.
Parking tickets and tickets for equipment violations, such as a broken headlight, do not result in points against your driving record. Pleading guilty to a moving violation allows MVC to assess points against you. How many points are added to your driving record depends on the type of infraction for which you were ticketed. For example, the following are some moving violations and the points associated with each of them:
N.J.S.A. 27:23-29 – Improper passing – 4 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-82 – Failure to keep right – 2 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-96 – Reckless driving – 5 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-89 – Tailgating – 5 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-91-92 – Failing to yield to emergency vehicles – 2 points
N.J.S.A. 39:4-105 – Failing to stop for traffic light – 2 points
Points assessed for speeding infractions are based on the speed at which your vehicle was traveling as followings:
Up to 14 mph over the speed limit – 2 points
15-29 mph over the limit – 4 points
30 mph or more over the limit – 5 points
You must pay a $150 surcharge if you get six or more points in three years. There is an additional charge of $25 for every point in excess of six. MVC has the authority to suspend your driver’s license if you have 12 or more points on your record. You should also know that certain violations also automatically trigger an annual surcharge for three consecutive years including $100 for being an unlicensed driver, $250 for driving with a suspended license or operating an uninsured vehicle and $1,000-$1,500 for driving while intoxicated (DWI).
It is not only the MVC that is keeping an eye on your driving record. The company that insures your car, truck or other vehicle is also keeping track of the traffic law violations for which you are convicted. It uses the information to determine whether to renew your insurance coverage each year and how much to charge you for it.
Plainfield Traffic Offense Defense Attorney
There is only one way to avoid the consequences of a traffic ticket and that is by fighting it in Plainfield Municipal Court. A defense attorney at the Marshall Criminal Office has the tools to succeed on your behalf with decades of experience appearing throughout Union County. Our lawyers know what it takes to avoid a motor vehicle violation so that your license and insurance remains in good standing. To speak to a lawyer immediately, call (908) 272-1700 for a free initial consultation. Attorneys stand ready to assist individuals around the clock so do not hesitate to contact us anytime.