Westfield NJ Marijuana Possession Lawyer
Charged With Possession of Marijuana in Westfield
There is definitely a tendency for individuals to underestimate the stakes involved with a Westfield marijuana possession charge. Do not make this mistake because you will have a criminal record and face the possibility of jail if you are convicted of possession of marijuana in Westfield New Jersey. As attorneys that have been defending drug possession charges in Westfield for decades, including 50 grams or less of marijuana, we know the best approach for avoiding the pitfalls of a plea or finding of guilt. Here at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, we have a team of former prosecutors and savvy defense lawyers who will fight to obtain the optimal result in your marijuana possession case. A lawyer on our staff is available 24/7 to provide a free consultation. Call us at 908-272-1700 to speak to an attorney about the specifics of your charge without obligation.
Marijuana Possession Offense in Westfield New Jersey
All marijuana possession offenses in Westfield New Jersey arise out of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a. In accordance with 2C:35-10a(3), it is a fourth degree crime to possess over 50 grams of marijuana. This form of drug possession charge in Westfield falls under the jurisdiction of the Union County Superior Court since it is indictable in nature. When someone is arrested for possessing 50 grams or less of marijuana, they are facing a disorderly persons offense that is dealt with in the Westfield Municipal Court. The headings below outline the important points you need to be aware of if you have been charged with either variety of possession of marijuana.
- Fourth Degree Crime for Possession of More than 50 Grams. A conviction for possessing more than 50 grams of marijuana under 2C:35-10a(3) results in a fine of up to $25,000 and up to 18 months in state prison.
- Disorderly Persons Offense for Possession of 50 Grams or Less of Marijuana. It is misdemeanor criminal offense to possess 50 grams or less of marijuana punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 6 months in jail.
- Mandatory License Suspension. Every 2C CDS or paraphernalia possession offense carries a mandatory license suspension of at least 6 months irrespective of whether or not a motor vehicle was involved in the related incident.
- Conditional Discharge & Pretrial Intervention. New Jersey Law permits a first time offender with no prior diversion to avoid prosecution in Westfield or any other jurisdiction by completing the conditional discharge or pretrial intervention programs. Eligibility for this relief is technical so you are best served in consulting with a knowledge criminal lawyer if you want to explore either program.
Westfield Possession of Marijuana Defense Attorney
Possession of marijuana is clearly an offense that is prone to be underestimated. Do yourself the service of contacting a defense attorney at our firm to learn what your options are in defending your Westfield possession of marijuana charge. A lawyer who has successfully defended many disorderly persons and fourth degree crimes for marijuana possession is available 24/7 to provide a free consultation. The lawyers at the Marshall Law Firm will outline precisely what you up against and your best options for reaching the most favorable outcome of your case. Call us now at 908-272-1700 to speak to our attorneys.