Roselle Marijuana Possession Lawyer
Charged With Possession of 50 Grams or Less of Marijuana in Roselle
Marijuana possession is relatively common in the Borough of Roselle. Usage of this controlled dangerous substance (“CDS”) seems to grow by the day despite the fact that it remains to be illegal in Roselle and the rest of New Jersey. The truth is that, while there is much publicity regarding legalization of the drug, you are exposed to serious penalties if you are found in possession of marijuana. For this reason, it is important that you consult with a lawyer who is skilled in this area of law if you have been charged with possession of marijuana in Roselle New Jersey. The Marshall Law Firm has a powerhouse criminal team of seasoned attorneys with decades of experience to successfully defend your case. In fact, our former prosecutors and other accomplished defense lawyers have been practicing in Roselle Municipal Court for over 100 years between them. If you were arrested for possessing marijuana, an attorney with the skills you need is available immediately to review your offense and to advise you as to your options. The consultation is free and you can give us a call 24/7 at 908-272-1700 for immediately assistance.
Roselle New Jersey Possession of 50 Grams or Less of Marijuana Charge
It is a disorderly persons offense to possess 50 grams or less of marijuana in Roselle New Jersey in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a(4). In order to convict you of this charge, the municipal prosecutor of the Borough of Roselle municipal court must establish that you: (1) actually or constructively possessed; (2) a substance that was marijuana; and (3) was in a quantity of 50 grams or less. The penalties for this violation include a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 6 months in the Union County Jail.
Fourth Degree Crime for Possession of Over 50 Grams Of Marijuana in Roselle
A less common form of marijuana possession in Roselle is found under 2C:35-10a(3), namely, over 50 grams of marijuana. This offense is a fourth degree crime that can only be dealt with at the Superior Court in Elizabeth and exposes you to a fine of up to $25,000 and up to 18 months in state prison.
Driver’s License Suspension. A possession conviction under either of the aforesaid sections of 2C:35-10 triggers a driver’s license suspension of 6-24 months. This revocation applies whether the charge arose or related to operation of a motor vehicle or not.
School Zone. There is an additional penalty that requires that you perform at least 100 hours of community service if you possessed marijuana in a school zone.
Diversion. Two programs allow you to avoid prosecution for possession of marijuana in Roselle but both are limited to first time offenders who have never been diverted before. You can apply for a conditional discharge if you are facing a disorderly persons offense for possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana in Roselle or for pretrial intervention if you are facing a fourth degree crime for possessing over 50 grams.
Roselle NJ Possession of Marijuana Defense Attorney
Possession of marijuana in Roselle NJ or another municipality in Union County can clearly cause bigger problems than most people think when they smoke this form of CDS. You can be left with a criminal record, a license suspension, probation with drug testing and even be sent to jail. Selecting a defense attorney with the tools to insure that this consequences are avoided should be your primary goal at this time. The lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are former prosecutors and savvy trial advocates who have been representing clients just like you throughout the region for decades. We certainly have the knowledge and expertise you require and a lawyer is always available to assist you in a free consultation at 908-272-1700. Call our attorneys for the sound guidance you need in this confusing time.