Hillside Theft Lawyer
Charged With Theft In Hillside New Jersey
There are many varieties of theft offense that an individual can be charged with in Hillside New Jersey. The common thread of all of these charges is conduct that involves the unauthorized taking of the property of another person. If you were charged with a Hillside theft or fraud related charge, you are well advised to contact a lawyer who is knowledgeable in the defense of these types of violations. The eight criminal attorneys at the Marshall Firm have over a century of collective experience defending Hillside Municipal Court and Union County Superior Court theft offenses like:
- Theft by Unlawful Taking
- Theft by Deception
- Theft of Services
- Credit Card Theft & Fraud
- Identity Theft
- Receiving Stolen Property
For an immediate consultation with an attorney about these or another offense involving allegations of stealing, contact our office at 908-272-1700. Lawyers on our staff are ready to assist you 24/7 without fee.
Grading of a Theft Charge. Except in cases of burglary and robbery, a theft charge is generally graded in terms of severity based on the value of the property stolen. If an individual commits a shoplifting or another theft involving property with a value of less than $200, it results in a disorderly persons offense. Stealing property or money with a value of at least $200 but less than $500 is a fourth degree crime. A theft of at least $500 but less than $75,000 is a third degree crime. When someone commits a theft of something with a value of $75,000 or more it results in a second degree crime. This
Penalties For A Theft Offense. A disorderly persons offense for theft carries a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 6 months in the Union County Jail. A fourth degree crime for theft by deception, shoplifting or another crime offense of this nature triggers a prison term of up to 18 months and a fine that can reach $10,000. The maximum penalties for a third degree theft crime include a fine of up to $15,000 and up to 5 years in prison. The most serious form of theft is a second degree crime that results in a potential fine of up to $150,000 and 5-10 years in prison.
First Time Offender. A first time offender can avoid prosecution for a Hillside heft if they are admitted in the Pretrial Intervention Program (indictable charges) or the Conditional Dismissal Program (disorderly persons offense). The guidelines for admission and completion of these programs are stringent so it is always advisable to consult a knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer if you are interested in securing this relief.
Hillside Theft Defense Attorney
A theft defense lawyer who is accustomed to defending theft cases is going to equip you with the best opportunity to escape a conviction. Here at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our attorneys are seasoned advocates who have represented clients charged with a wide array of thefts in Hillside and Union County. You can obtain a free consultation with an attorney on our staff immediately by calling 908-272-1700. One of the lawyers is prepared to provide you with guidance any time of day or night.