Hillside Aggravated Assault Lawyer
Charged With Aggravated Assault in Hillside New Jersey
Whether you have been accused of assaulting a police officer or some other conduct resulting in an aggravated assault offense in Hillside New Jersey, you need to take immediate action to protect yourself. Hiring a lawyer who is skilled in defending assault charges at the Union County Superior Court, the place where your Hillside aggravated assault charge shall be heard, is the best thing you can do to accomplish this objective. Here at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our staff of accomplished criminal attorneys include several former prosecutors with over 100 years of combined experience. A complimentary consultation with an attorney who has defended an aggravated assault offense on countless occasions is just a telephone call away at 908-272-1700.
Aggravated Assault Charge in the Township of Hillside
Aggravated assault charges in Hillside arise out of N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1b. There are twelve scenarios under which someone can be charged with aggravated assault in New Jersey. Aggravated assault results where the actor:
- Attempts or purposely or knowingly causes serious bodily injury or causes such injury as a result of reckless conduct manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life;
- Attempts to cause or purposely or knowingly causes bodily injury with a deadly weapon;
- Recklessly causes bodily injury with a deadly weapon;
- Knowingly under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life points a firearm at or in the direction of another;
- Commits a simple assault on a police officer, fireman, EMT, teacher or school administrator, child services worker, judge, corrections officer, utility worker, health care worker at a governmental psychiatric facility;
- Causes bodily injury while eluding or fleeing police;
- Attempts to cause significant bodily injury to another or causes significant bodily injury purposely or knowingly or, under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life recklessly causes such significant bodily injury;
- Causes bodily injury by knowingly or purposely starting a fire or causing an explosion;
- Knowingly, under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life, points or displays a firearm at or in the direction of a law enforcement officer;
- Knowingly points, displays or uses an imitation firearm, at or in the direction of a law enforcement officer with the purpose to intimidate, threaten or attempt to put the officer in fear of bodily injury or for any unlawful purpose;
- Uses or activates a laser sighting system or device, or a system or device against a law enforcement officer; or
- Attempts to cause significant bodily injury or causes significant bodily injury purposely or knowingly or, under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life, recklessly causes significant bodily injury to a person who, with respect to the actor, meets the definition of a victim of domestic violence.
Penalties If You Are Convicted Of A Hillside Aggravated Assault. Aggravated assault can result in a second degree, third degree or fourth degree crime depending on which of the twelve varieties of conduct gives rise to the violation. A second degree crime for aggravated assault results in a fine of up to $150,000 and 5-10 years in prison. A third degree crime under 2C:12-1b carries up to 5 years in prison and a fine that can reach $15,000. The maximum penalties for a fourth degree aggravated assault include a fine of up to $10,000 and 18 months in prison. There are also instances of second degree or third degree aggravated assault under 1 through 12 where the No Early Release Act (“NERA”) applies. NERA mandates that a defendant serve at least 85% of the term of imprisonment before being eligible for parole. You should also know that these consequences apply on top of any restraining order that may have been entered in the event that the charge arises out of an incident of alleged domestic violence in Hillside.
Hillside Aggravated Assault Defense Attorney
The consequences of a Hillside aggravated assault offense can obviously be significant. You need to hire a skilled defense attorney to combat the risk of a negative outcome. Attorneys on the criminal team of the Marshall Law Firm have the know-how necessary to protect you against the penalties that apply under 2C:12-1b. For a free case review and recommendation from a highly experienced lawyer, call 908-272-1700. One of the lawyers on our staff is available to assist you immediately.