Fanwood DWI Attorney
If you have landed on this page, it stands to reason that you have been charged with DWI in Fanwood New Jersey. These and other aggressive law enforcement tactics could lead to a DWI charge that can, quite literally, ruin your life. Not only are there fines and the possibility of imprisonment, but your license to drive could be taken away from you. For many people, this could make it difficult or impossible for them to get to work and continue to earn a living.
You need a skilled and resourceful Fanwood DWI attorney if you have been charged with driving while intoxicated. The defense lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are former prosecutors and seasoned trial veterans with years of experience in Municipal Courts and Superior Courts throughout the state. Some of our attorneys are trained and certified in field sobriety testing and in the devices used by police to test blood alcohol levels. We offer you the best chance of averting a conviction and its harsh penalties. There is an attorney available to help you 24 hours a day and seven days a week by calling us at (908) 272-1700 for a free initial consultation.
Fanwood NJ DWI Offense
It is a violation N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 to drive a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. You are considered to be intoxicated if your blood alcohol concentration as determined by an analysis of a breath or blood sample is 0.08 percent or more. If you are pulled over by a police officer for a traffic violation or are stopped at a DWI checkpoint set up by police in Fanwood or other communities and arrested for a DWI, you will be asked to consent to a breath test using an Alcotest or other device to measure your BAC. If you refuse, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will suspend your license for up to 12 months, impose fines up to $500 and make you complete at least 12 hours an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in addition to any penalties imposed by a court on the DWI charge.
Penalties for a First Offense DWI in Fanwood New Jersey
Penalties for a conviction of DWI depend upon your BAC and any prior DWI conviction. For a first offense DWI with a BAC of between 0.08 percent and less than 0.10 percent N.J.S.A. 39:4- 50 allows judges to impose the following penalties at sentencing:
- Up to 30 days in jail
- 90-day license suspension
- Fines up to $400 with a $250 minimum fine
- 12-48 hours attendance at IDRC
- $1,000 yearly surcharge for three years
The penalties increase if your BAC is 0.10 percent or higher (e.g. 7-12 months suspension), and you could also be forced to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle if you have a BAC of at least 0.15 percent.
Unlike drivers in most other states who have the ability to apply for a hardship or restricted license to at least get to and from work, New Jersey motorist who lose their driver’s licenses to a DWI conviction are stranded. The period is 2 years for a second offense and 10 years for a third offense for DUI/DWI. This makes it even more important to have a lawyer representing you who is a skilled and dedicated advocate will to aggressively pursue any and all defenses to help you to avoid a conviction.
Fanwood DWI Attorney
When you have a Fanwood DWI attorney from the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall defending you, you are assured of receiving trusted advice and superior representation from a resourceful attorney with years of experience. Our team of attorneys gives you the best chance of avoiding a conviction and the penalties of a DWI. There is an attorney available 24 hours a day and seven days a week by calling us at (908) 272-1700 for a free initial consultation.