Kenilworth Marijuana Attorney
Possession of 50 Grams or Less of Marijuana Lawyers in Kenilworth New Jersey
Although there is a tendency to view marijuana possession lightly, do not be foolish enough to adopt this approach if you have been charged in Kenilworth New Jersey. Whether you are facing an offense for possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana or a fourth degree crime for having more on your person, a conviction carries serious ramifications that require assistance from a competent attorney. Here at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our lawyers are former prosecutors make up a team with over a century of combined experience defending charges in Kenilworth Municipal Court and at the Union County Superior Court in Elizabeth. The attorneys on staff know what it takes to provide maximum protection against a conviction include the most effective approach for attacking an improper motor vehicle stop or search. To speak to a lawyer immediately about your marijuana offense in Kenilworth, call 908-272-1700.
Kenilworth Marijuana Charges
There are basically three types of marijuana charges that an individual can face in Kenilworth. Each variety of marijuana offense is outlined in the headings below.
Possession of 50 Grams or Less. The most common type of Kenilworth marijuana offense is possession of 50 grams or less under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a(4). This is a disorderly persons offense that falls under the jurisdiction of the Kenilworth Municipal Court. While this charge is misdemeanor in nature, a conviction carries the potential for a $1,000 fine and up to 6 months in the county jail.
Possession of Over 50 Grams. Possessing more than 50 grams of marijuana in Kenilworth is a fourth degree crime, a felony, which can only be resolved at the county courthouse located in Elizabeth. You will face a fine of up to $25,000 and up to 18 months in state prison if you are convicted of
Distribution of Marijuana. Manufacturing, selling or possessing marijuana with intent to distribute in Kenilworth can result in a first degree, second degree, third degree or fourth degree crime under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5 depending on the quantity involved. Twenty-five pounds of more is a first degree, at least five pounds but less than twenty-five pounds results in a second degree, at least an ounce but less than five pounds is a third degree and distribution of less than an ounce is a fourth degree crime.
A conviction for any of these marijuana charges also results in a mandatory suspension of your driver’s license for at least 6 months and as much as 24 months. This is the case even if you not operating a motor vehicle; there is no requirement that a possession of CDS in a motor vehicle charge applies.
Kenilworth Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyer
Marijuana possession is definitely an offense that individuals are prone to take lightly. This is poor judgment since you face severe penalties for even possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana in Kenilworth. Hiring defense lawyer who is adept in defending marijuana charges is going to be your best bet in avoiding the negative implications of a conviction. This is the role that the attorneys at the Marshall Firm can serve so effectively for you. If you would like to speak to an attorney anytime 24/7 on our team, call 908-272-1700. Lawyers are available now to answer all of your questions.