New Providence NJ DWI Lawyer
Defense Lawyer for DUI Offense in New Providence New Jersey
If you have been arrested and charged with DWI in New Providence, people might have told you there is nothing you can do to avoid the license suspension, fines and other consequences of a conviction. A first offense DWI takes your driver’s license away for at least three months, which could have a devastating effect on your life if your job depends on your ability to drive. When so much is at stake, you need a capable New Providence NJ DWI Lawyer from the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall.
Our proven record of success defending individuals charged with DWI in New Jersey municipal courts and superior courts comes from our defense team’s 100 years of collective experience successfully defending people charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Some of our attorneys are former prosecutors and all of them are seasoned criminal and DWI defense lawyers. A few members of our defense team are certified in the use and operation of the Alcotest device used by police departments throughout the state to test drivers arrested for DWI to determine their blood alcohol concentration levels. Some of our attorneys have been trained as field sobriety test instructors, so we have the ability to recognize errors made by police officers or flaws in testing procedures and use them to the benefit of our clients. We are here to help you 24 hours a day, seven days a week merely by call us at (908) 272-1700 for a free initial consultation with a DWI attorney.
New Providence DWI Charges
It is impossible to tell from the number of drinks you have whether you are intoxicated and in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 when you get behind the wheel of your car. Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol can result in DWI charges. Court decisions have ruled operation of a motor vehicle to include being asleep in the driver’s seat and parked on the side of the road if the keys are in the ignition.
DWI charges usually start with being stopped by a police officer for a traffic violation, but checkpoints set up by the police to catch people violating N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 is also an effective method used by law enforcement agencies throughout the state. Referred to as sobriety checkpoints, they are set up at locations that change from one time to another. Police staffing the checkpoints must be guided by predetermined rules for how vehicles are to be stopped. For example, it might be agreed that every third vehicle will be stopped and the driver questioned. If that is the pattern chosen, it would not be appropriate for police to stop the fourth car coming through the checkpoint unless the driver was committing a violation of the law.
Whether you were stopped while by a police officer or were questioned at a sobriety checkpoint, your New Providence DWI attorney will be looking at the process and procedures followed by the police to determine challenges and defenses that could be used to invalidate the initial stop of your vehicle. If police did not have a legitimate basis for stopping your vehicle, it could provide the basis for a motion to dismiss the DWI charge against you.
Penalties and Consequences of a New Jersey DWI
If you have no prior record of a DWI conviction within the past 10 years, and your BAC is at least 0.08 percent and less than 0.10 percent, you could be sentenced to serve up to 30 days in jail, pay a fine of between $250 and $400, participate in an IDRC program for 12 to 48 hours and have your license suspended for up to three months. You will also be forced to pay a surcharge of $1,000 a year to the state for the three years following your conviction.
Consult a New Providence New Jersey DWI Attorney
Give yourself the best chance of avoiding the penalties and consequences of a conviction of violating N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 with a tough and resourceful New Providence New Jersey DWI attorney from the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall. Put our well-earned reputation as formidable adversaries passionately defending rights of our clients to work for you. When you are in need of a DWI lawyer, you can count on us to be there 24 hours a day and seven days a week. Speak to an attorney in a free initial consultation by contacting us right away at (908) 272-1700.