Hillside Marijuana Possession Attorney
Arrested for Possessing Marijuana in Hillside New Jersey
There are many individuals arrested for possessing marijuana every year in the Union County municipality of Hillside New Jersey. The classic charge involves possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana although the Township also has its share of cases involving more than 50 grams. If you were charged with either form of marijuana possession in Hillside, an attorney at the Marshall Firm is here to prepare an effective defense. This is extremely important since a conviction for having or using marijuana results in a criminal record, license suspension and even jail in extreme cases. Our lawyer can help you avoid ramifications like these utilizing over 100 years of experience, including the insight gained serving as prosecutors. To speak to one of our attorneys in a free initial consultation, call 908-272-1700. Lawyers are available 24/7 so do not hesitate to contact us as needed.
Charged With Possession of 50 Grams or Less of Marijuana in Hillside
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a(4), it is a disorderly persons offense to knowing possesses, either actually or constructively, a quantity of marijuana of 50 grams or less in the Township of Hillside. Knowing means that you had a conscious object to possess marijuana because you have either direct custody (i.e. actual possession) or because you have aware of the existence of the CDS and intend to take control of it in the future (i.e. constructive possession). If you are found guilty of this type of marijuana possession in Hillside Municipal Court, you are subject to a fine of up to $1,000, up to 6 months in prison, probation, drug testing and a driver’s license suspension of 6-24 months. This period of suspension applies in addition to whatever may be imposed for a separate charge under N.J.S.A. 39:4-49.1 for possession of drugs in a motor vehicle.
Possession of Over 50 Grams of Marijuana in Hillside
Possession of over 50 grams of marijuana is a more serious offense since it results in a fourth degree crime, a felony, under 2C:35-10a(3). A conviction for possessing a quantity of more than 50 grams in Hillside NJ results in a sentence at the Union County Superior Court in Elizabeth that includes a fine of up to $25,000, up to 18 months in prison, probation, drug testing and the same mandatory suspension of your driver’s license as set forth previously.
Possession of Marijuana In a School Zone. When marijuana is possessed in either quantity in a Hillside school zone (i.e. within 1,000 feet of school property), there is an additional requirement that the actor serve at least 100 years of community service on top of the other penalties that apply.
Manufacturing, Distributing or Possession With Intent to Distribute Marijuana. When possession is for the purpose of manufacturing, distributing or possession with intent to distribute marijuana in Hillside or another municipality, an entirely different law and set of penalties apply. For more information on this subject click here.
Hillside Marijuana Possession Defense Lawyer
An arrest for marijuana possession certainly has the ability to cause issues in your life. Equipping yourself with the resources to insure you are effected as minimally as possible definitely has a lot to do with the level of skill of your defense lawyer. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have a high level of knowledge and experience in possession of marijuana cases in Union County, including in Hillside Municipal Court. If you or your child is facing a charge of this nature, an attorney on our team is prepared to challenging the search of your car, motor vehicle or residence or any other conduct of the Hillside Police so that you have every opportunity to move on with your life without a record and other penalties that apply under 2C:35-10. To speak to one of our lawyers immediately without charge, call 908-272-1700.