Roselle NJ Marijuana Possession Attorney
Marijuana is certainly the most common controlled dangerous substance (“cds”) resulting in criminal charges in Union County. Although the drug is commonplace throughout the court system, marijuana possession remains illegal. The police in Union County are extremely aggressive in enforcing the law with a frequent eye to parlaying a possession of marijuana arrest into something much bigger. If you arrested and subsequently charged with marijuana possession, the attorneys at The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are here to insure that this consequences of this incident are minimized. We are savvy former prosecutors and highly skilled lawyers who have been defending charges like yours in Roselle, Union, Springfield, Hillside, Kenliworth and other local municipalities for several decades. An attorney is ready to conduct a thorough review of the facts surrounding the motor vehicle stop, search of your car, apartment or house, or other circumstances surrounding your arrest so that every opportunity to dismantle the marijuana possession offense is exhausted. A lawyer is available now to assist you in a free initial consultation by contacting our Union NJ Criminal Defense Office at 908-272-1700.
Possession of Marijuana Offense in Union County New Jersey
There are two pedigrees of possession of marijuana offense that an individual can face in Union County. The first variety is a disorderly persons offense that is triggered when someone is in possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana for personal use. A conviction for this form of marijuana possession carries penalties that include a fine of up to $1,000, a six (6) to twenty-four (24) months suspension of your driver’s license and a term of imprisonment at the Union County Jail for up to six (6) months.
The type of marijuana possession that you may be facing is set forth at N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(3) and applies where someone possesses more than 50 grams of marijuana. This violation is limited to instances of personal possession as opposed to marijuana distribution. Nonetheless, the offense is a fourth degree crime, a felony, under New Jersey Law. The penalties for fourth degree marijuana possession include a maximum fine of $25,000 and up to eighteen (18) in state prison. The mandatory driver’s license suspension previously set forth also applies when possession of marijuana is a fourth degree crime.
Diversion Programs. There are two programs that can allow an individual to avoid prosecution for a marijuana possession offense. Conditional discharge is available to first time offenders facing a disorderly persons offense for possession of marijuana. Pretrial intervention is the program that applies when someone is facing a felony marijuana possession charge at the Union County Courthouse in Elizabeth.
Mountainside NJ Marijuana Possession Lawyer
While marijuana possession charges are prevalent in even suburban towns like Mountainside, Summit and Berkeley Heights, do not be lulled into the thought that this offense is minor. A conviction results in consequences that can seriously impact your daily life and future. Hiring an experienced lawyer can, however, help you negate these ramifications. Attorneys at our firm, The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, are equipped with the knowledge and familiarity with the court system necessary to serve you in Garwood, Elizabeth or anywhere else in the county. Call us anytime 24/7 at 908-272-1700 for immediate assistance.
Additional Marijuana Resources On This Site
|50 Grams or Less of Marijuana||Manufacturing, Selling or Distributing Marijuana|
|Linden NJ Marijuana Attorney||Union Township Marijuana Lawyers|
|Cranford NJ Marijuana Defense Lawyer||Westfield Marijuana Attorneys|
|Springfield NJ Marijuana Attorney||Clark NJ Marijuana Lawyers|
|Roselle Park NJ Marijuana Lawyer||Hillside Marijuana Defense Lawyers|