Serving the Elizabeth NJ Superior Court & All Municipal Courts in Union County

Union County NJ Criminal Defense Lawyers

Over 100 Year of Combined Experience

Former County & Municipal Prosecutors



Kenilworth Traffic Ticket Lawyer

Contact the Former Municipal Prosecutors & Skilled Traffic Attorneys at the Marshall Firm If You Have Been Charged With A Motor Vehicle Offense in Kenilworth New Jersey.

Thousands of motorists are issued a ticket for a moving traffic offense every year in Kenilworth. While you may believe that enlisting a Kenilworth Traffic Ticket Lawyer is far from necessary but be very careful in jumping to this belief. Almost every motor vehicle charge results in fines, motor vehicle points and the possibility of a negative impact on your ability to obtain car insurance for the same price. Hiring a traffic ticket attorney who is highly experience and familiar with the Kenilworth Municipal Court is probably going to be your biggest weapon in avoiding ramifications such as these. The lawyers at our firm, the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, certainly meet this description with over a century of collective experience defending motor vehicle charges such as speeding. You are encouraged to contact our Union Office for a free consultation with a lawyer on our staff immediately.

Traffic Offense in Kenilworth New Jersey

There are many types of offenses set forth in the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Code.  The Kenilworth traffic offense attorneys at our firm have extensive experience handling almost any moving violation. The headings that follow summarize the more important aspects of common traffic charges in Kenilworth Municipal Court.

Speeding. Tickets for speeding are probably the most frequently encountered summons in Kenilworth New Jersey. A primary reasons is the presence of the Garden State Parkway and the number of speeding offenses issued along this roadway. For additional information on this charge refer to our Kenilworth Speeding Ticket Post.

Driving While Suspended. Driving with a suspended license is a serious offense in Kenilworth or just about any other place in the state. A conviction under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 results in significant penalties that include an additional period of suspension of up to six months, an automatic surcharge of $250 per year for three years and a fine of $500. If you are a repeat offender and are convicted of a second offense for driving while suspended in Kenilworth, the fine escalates to $750 and you must serve a 1-5 day jail term. The penalties for a third or subsequent offense for driving with a suspended license in Kenilworth get even worse with a $1,000 fine and a mandatory imprisonment for 10 days.

Driving Without Insurance. The penalties for driving without insurance in Kenilworth New Jersey are set forth at N.J.S.A. 39:6b-2. The municipal court judge in Kenilworth must suspend your license for one year and impose a fine of at least $300 and up to $1,000 if you are convicted of a first offense. A second offense carries a mandatory county jail term of 14 days, fine of up to $5,000, license suspension of two years and 30 days of community service.

Reckless Driving. An individual commits a reckless driving in Kenilworth when they operate a motor vehicle “heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the right or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property”. The court has discretion to impose a license suspension and up to 60 days in jail at the time of conviction.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident. A summons for leaving the scene of an accident in Kenilworth is triggered by N.J.S.A. 39:4-129. If you were knowingly involved in an accident and left the scene of an accident the consequences of a conviction hinge on the nature of the damage resulting from the collision. If personal injury was sustained and you left the scene, you are subject to a fine of at least $2,500 and up to $5,000, up to 180 in jail and a one license suspension. If the accident resulted in property damage only, the penalties include a fine of $250 to $400, imprisonment for up to 30 days and a suspension of up to 6 months.

An attorney is ready to discuss an offense in more detail and what we can do to help you avoid a conviction for any of these or another motor vehicle charge.

Kenilworth Traffic Offense Attorney

A traffic offense can certainly cause many more issues in your life than you may have anticipated prior to reading this article. The good news is, however, that an attorney on our staff can almost always secure a downgrade of a motor vehicle violation. If you were issued a ticket for driving while suspended, leaving the scene of an accident, reckless driving or any other charge, the lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are fully capable of securing the outcome you need. For an immediate review of all of the facts associated with the offense and our feedback concerning how we can go about obtaining a dismissal or downgrade, call 908-272-1700 to speak to a lawyer now. The attorneys on staff are available 24/7 to assist you.