Kenilworth Theft Lawyer
Charged With Theft in Kenilworth
One of the largest categories of criminal offense in New Jersey and in municipalities like Kenilworth New Jersey is theft offenses. The common thread in every theft related offense is some form of stealing or misrepresentation to acquire money or property of another person. If you were arrested on a theft charge in Kenilworth, including shoplifting, burglary, bad checks, theft of services or receiving stolen property, a lawyer at the Marshall Firm is equipped to mount a thorough defense to your offense. Our firm is comprised of a team of former prosecutors and skilled attorneys who have been battling theft and other violations arising in Kenilworth for over a century. The team of criminal lawyers, which includes several former prosecutors, is prepared to battle so that you secure a dismissal or the downgrade that you need to move on with your life with minimal impact. For an immediate consultation with an attorney who possesses the knowledge needed to thoroughly protect you, call 908-272-1700.
Theft Charges in Kenilworth New Jersey
The New Jersey Criminal Code contains many theft and fraud related charges that someone like you can potentially face in Kenilworth New Jersey. Some offenses occur more commonly than others. Individuals are charged most frequently in Kenilworth with theft involving:
- Theft by Unlawful Taking
- Theft of Services
- Theft by Deception
- Credit Card Theft & Fraud
- Identity Theft
- Writing a Bad Check (a.k.a. bouncing a check)
- Receiving Stolen Property
The severity of most theft charges hinge on the value of the property stolen in accordance with N.J.S.A. 2C:20-2. A theft of property with a value of less than $200 is a disorderly persons offense. The penalties for this form of theft include a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 6 months in the county jail. It is a fourth degree crime to commit a shoplifting or other theft involving property with a value of at least $200 but less than $500. A conviction for a fourth degree theft include a fine of up to $10,000 and up to 18 months in prison. Theft or defrauding someone of property worth at least $500 but less than $75,000 is a third degree crime punishable by a fine of up to $15,000 and up to 5 years in prison. The most serious form of theft is a second degree crime. Second degree theft carries penalties that include a fine of up to $150,000 and 5-10 years in prison.
The Conditional Dismissal Program allows an individual who is a first time offender to avoid a conviction for a disorderly persons offense for theft in Kenilworth Municipal Court. The Pretrial Intervention Program also allows a first offender to escape prosecution but only when they are facing a fourth degree, third degree or second degree crime.
Kenilworth Theft Defense Attorney
A conviction for theft can be devastating to an individual because it leaves them with a record for stealing. When you combine this ramification with the penalties that are triggered, there is little doubting the fact that you need the best defense attorney you can find if you have been charged with theft in Kenilworth. The Kenilworth Criminal Attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have the attributes to secure a favorable outcome on your behalf. We are former prosecutors and seasoned criminal lawyers with over 100 years of collective experience. A lawyer is ready to listen to your story and advise you of the most viable strategy for averting a conviction. Call us now at 908-272-1700 for a free consultation.