Linden NJ Harassment Attorney
Harassment Defense Lawyers in the City of Linden
The criminal charge of harassment is frequently confused with the job place civil cause of action bearing the same name. Here we are talking about a violation of the New Jersey criminal justice code that results in a criminal record and penalties that include the possibility of imprisonment. If you were charged with harassment in Linden, it certainly would be advisable to seek the services of a skilled attorney. We all make mistakes, and in a relationship emotions can run high. When it results in a harassment offense, however, it exposes you to fines, jail time, and a criminal record. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have a team of experienced lawyers ready to defend you against your harassment charge in Linden Municipal Court or Union County Superior Court. Having successfully handled thousands of harassment cases and other assault and threat accusations, the former prosecutors and accomplished attorneys on our staff are adept in all possible defenses to get your case dismissed or at least minimize its impact on your life. Contact us in Union NJ to speak to a lawyer today by calling 908-272-1700.
Linden Harassment Charge
New Jersey’s Harassment Law is contained at N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4. The statute states that it is a petty disorderly persons offense if a person does one of the following:
a. Makes, or causes to be made, a communication or communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, or in offensively coarse language, or any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm;
b. Subjects another to striking, kicking, shoving, or other offensive touching, or threatens to do so; or c. Engages in any other course of alarming conduct or of repeatedly committed acts with purpose to alarm or seriously annoy such other person.
The element of Intent. If any of the above is present, it is still not a crime of harassment unless the person did so with purpose to harass.
What is a court of alarming conduct? There is no precise definition of alarming conduct for purposes of the harassment statute. Rather, courts will look at the individual facts of each case and consider factors such as age, gender, and the relationship between the victim and the accused to determine whether harassment has occurred. New Jersey courts have, however, provided some guidelines. For example, profanity or thoughtless words alone do not constitute harassment. Be sure to speak to an attorney to understand the parameters of what constitutes harassment.
Penalties for harassment. A conviction of harassment can result in up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Harassment becomes a fourth-degree crime, which is prosecuted in Union County Superior Court in Elizabeth, if the harasser was in prison, or was on parole or probation for a previous crime during the time of the harassment. In that case, the penalty could be up to 18 months in prison and $10,000 fine.
Linden Harassment Lawyer
The Harassment Law in New Jersey calls on courts to look at the specific facts of each case to determine whether harassment has truly occurred. That is why it is vital that you hire an experienced attorney to help you. The attorneys at The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have the know-how to challenge the accusation by showing that you did not have the required intent to harass, or to demonstrate, through a careful review of all the facts of the case, that your conduct could not be considered “alarming or annoying” under the circumstances. Call The Marshall Firm today at 908-272-1700 for a free consultation with a lawyer with decades of experience appearing and defending harassment charges, including in the Linden Municipal Court. Lawyers are ready to start working so that the harassment charged against you can be dismissed or downgraded. Call us anytime to 24/7 to reach an attorney.