Roselle Aggravated Assault Lawyer
Arrested for Aggravated Assault in Roselle New Jersey
A fight or other physical encounter in Roselle can result in an aggravated assault charge must more seamlessly than your might anticipate. Whether the offense is triggered as a result of a melee with a police officer, an argument with a neighbor that got out of hand or some other circumstance, participants rarely anticipate their conduct is going to result in their being charged with a crime of the second degree, third degree or fourth degree that is a felony and can subject them to all sorts of life changing consequences.
If you have been charged in the Borough of Roselle with aggravated assault, selecting the right lawyer to defend you is a must give the penalties. The attorneys at the Marshall Firm are seasoned advocates and former prosecutors who have been representing clients in Roselle New Jersey and at the county courthouse in Elizabeth for over 100 years combined. Contact our Union NJ Office at 908-272-1700 for immediate assistance from a knowledgeable attorney.
Roselle NJ Aggravated Assault Offense
There are twelve categories of aggravated assault under N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1b that an individual can potentially be charged under in Roselle NJ. There are certainly forms of aggravated assault that arise more often than others including:
- A simple assault committed on a police officer, EMT, teacher, fireman or other individual;
- Attempting, intentionally or recklessly causing serious bodily injury or significant bodily injury to another person;
- Pointing a firearm at a police officer or other person;
- Attempting, intentionally or recklessly causing bodily injury with a deadly weapon; and
- Causing bodily injury to another while eluding the police.
As previously stated, an individual can face a crime of the second degree, third degree or fourth degree for committing an aggravated assault. Second degree aggravated assault results in a fine of up to $150,000 and 5-10 years in prison. In addition, the No Early Release Act (“NERA”) applies and this requires that the accused serve at least 85% of the term imposed before becoming eligible for parole. Third degree aggravated assault results in 3-5 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000. Fourth degree aggravated assault carries a fine of up to $10,000 and a prison term of up to 18 months.
An individual arrested for aggravated assault can seek relief through the Pretrial Intervention Program. The guidelines for admission and completion of this program are stiff so retaining an attorney who is savvy in this area is highly advised.
Roselle Aggravated Assault Defense Attorney
Aggravated assault is a serious offense as you have learned from this article. The situation is even more extreme if the case also involves domestic violence and a restraining order. Irrespective, defense attorney with considerable experience in this area of law can arm you with the tools to counteract these charges. The lawyers at the Union Office of our firm can effectively serve you in this role as former prosecutors with over 100 years of experience appearing at the Union County Superior Court in Elizabeth. To speak to a lawyer immediately, call 908-272-1700. One of our lawyers is available at this number around the clock.