Cranford Aggravated Assault Lawyer
Charged With Aggravated Assault in Cranford New Jersey
Violent crimes like aggravated assault stand out from others because they invoke fear in people and often have sympathetic victims. This leads to pressure being put on the Union County Prosecutor’s Office to come down hard on the accused and seek lengthy prison sentences.
Even once you have been released from prison, things don’t get much better. A violent felony conviction on your record can be a game changer. For instance, you will lose valuable constitutional rights and potential employers won’t give your application a second look. In other words, a conviction for aggravated assault will continue to make your life very difficult long after you have served whatever punishment you receive.
Cases involving aggravated assault typically require investigation, attention to detail, intense negotiations, expert witnesses, and so on. This, along with all the other risks associated with being convicted of a violent crime like aggravated assault, means that it is absolutely crucial for you find the right attorney. Lawyers who are both qualified and willing to put the necessary effort to get you the best possible outcome is what you need.
With over 100 years of combined experience defending clients in New Jersey, our attorneys have seen it all and have successfully resolved countless cases just like yours. Give the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall a call at 609–683–8102 for a free consultation with a knowledgeable lawyer who knows the ins and outs of fighting an aggravated assault charge in Cranford and the rest of the state.
Aggravated Assault Offense in Cranford
N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1b defines aggravated assault and exposes an individual to a conviction for this offense if they engage in conduct in Cranford that includes, but is not limited to:
- An attempt to cause serious bodily injury to another, or causing such injury purposely or knowingly under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life, or recklessly causes such injury; or
- An attempt to cause or knowingly causing bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
recklessly causing bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
- Aiming a weapon at another knowingly under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life; or
- Commit a simple assault on a Cranford Police Officer, EMT, fireman, teacher or other individual afforded protection under 2C:12-1b(5); or
- Cause injury to another while eluding the police.
Aggravated assault is an indictable or felony level offense in New Jersey, meaning that it will be handled at the county Superior Court located in Union County Courthouse, 2 Broad St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201, where you will face severe penalties if convicted.
Aggravated assault in Cranford, New Jersey can be graded as a crime of a second degree, third degree, or fourth degree, depending on a variety of factors, including:
- The nature of the force used in committing the offense
- The extent of the injuries the alleged victim has suffered
- Whether or not any weapons were used when committing the offense
- Where the assault occurred
- Whether or not you have any prior convictions
Second Degree Crime for Aggravated Assault. The penalties for a second-degree aggravated assault include a mandatory sentence of 5-10 years in a state prison with a presumption of incarceration, meaning that even if you have no prior criminal record, you will be sentenced to time in a state prison where you will have to complete 85% of the term before being eligible for parole. In addition, there can be a fine imposed of up to $150,000. A person will typically be charged with second degree aggravated assault if they are alleged to have caused or attempted to cause serious bodily injury to another with extreme indifference to the value of human life; or while fleeing or attempting to elude law enforcement.
Third Degree Crime Aggravated Assault. The penalties for a third-degree aggravated assault include a fine of up to $15,000 and 3-5 years in a state prison with a presumption of non-incarceration, which means that if you have no prior criminal record, you will be considered for probation in lieu of incarceration. A person will typically be charged with third-degree aggravated assault if they are alleged to have brandished or used a deadly weapon to cause significant bodily injury to another, or pointed that weapon in the direction of a law enforcement.
Fourth Degree Crime for Aggravated Assault. The penalties for a fourth-degree aggravated assault include up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. A person will typically be charged with fourth-degree aggravated assault if they are alleged to have recklessly caused bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or if they are alleged to have pointed a firearm at or in the direction of another, whether they believed it to be loaded, or not.
New Jersey Aggravated Assault Lawyer
Have you or a loved one been charged with aggravated assault in Cranford, New Jersey? Are you worried and confused about what might happen? Call our skilled and experienced aggravated assault defense lawyers for fast help.
We have more than a century of experience under our belt and we know the system. Depending on the circumstance of your case, a lawyer at our firm may be able to get the charges either downgraded or dismissed and avoiding a criminal record, not to mention the potentially severe penalties set forth in 2C:12-1b.
When your freedom is at stake, call one of our knowledgeable and experienced attorneys to defend your rights. We focus exclusively on criminal cases and people charged with serious crimes.
We offer a no-cost consultation to people who have been charged with a criminal offense and their loved ones. During this consultation, you will learn how an attorney at the firm can help you.
For immediate assistance and peace of mind call the Marshall Law Firm at 908-272-1700.